Eliot Spitzer Would Be Better Off If He Practiced What He Preached

March 11, 2008 at 11:29 pm 1 comment

Eliot Spitzer, the governor of New York, is embroiled in a scandal and announced that he “failed to live up to the standard I expected of myself”. His alleged actions are more notable because of his anti-corruption stance. (I also heard that governor was his stepping stone to the White House, which may never happen now.)

Not ever wanting to be accused of not practicing what I preach, I went to my list of Ten Things You Can Do in Ten Minutes To Be a More Successful e-learning Professional and did #8, to contact an e-learning expert. Actually, it was my own spin on #8, but creativity and designing for our target audience are part of our profession!

Here’s what I did: I emailed Don Norman, who is an expert at many things, including e-learning, and is one of the people I most admire. I will add a caveat here that I know him and have asked him for advice before so I felt hopeful that he would respond. Don gave me brief feedback on the issue I asked him about, promising more since he was preparing for a trip, and detailed feedback on my blog, in particular, on my recent post on The Disconnect Between Patients and Doctors. As a result of this, I am writing a new post since I agree with his points.

Hence I have practiced what I preach and am better off for it since the insights I received will make me more successful. I bet Governor Spitzer wishes he had listened to his own advice.

Entry filed under: e-learning, health. Tags: , , , .

Ten Things You Can Do in Ten Minutes To Be a More Successful e-learning Professional Persuade Me I Need a Degree: How Unaccredited Online Degree Programs Advertise

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mike Gualtieri  |  March 12, 2008 at 2:44 am

    “Practicing what you preach” is a very relevent topic or learnimg, e-learning and advice in general. There is a surprising number of personal traininers at my health club that are overweight that are training people to lose weight. They are not practicing what they preach. I bet there are huge swaths of professions that are guilty of the same.

    Does anyone know the origination of the phrase “practice what you preach”?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lisa Gualtieri, PhD, ScM

Lisa GualtieriLisa Gualtieri is Assistant Professor at Tufts University School of Medicine in the Department of Public Health and Community Medicine. She is Director of the Certificate Program in Digital Health Communication. Lisa teaches Designing Health Campaigns using Social Media, Social Media and Health, Mobile Health Design, and Digital Strategies for Health Communication. Contact Lisa: lisa.gualtieri@tufts.edu

@lisagualtieri


