What Do “New York on $5 a Day” and “Mathematics Made Easy” Have in Common?

May 21, 2008 at 1:22 am 7 comments

The Boston Globe reports that 2 adults sharing a hotel room and eating 3 meals spend, on average, $606 a day in New York City. I go there often for business and have no trouble believing this. There was a book, published in 1964, called New York on $5 a Day. My interest is not inflation or travel costs, but book titles: what a compelling title! And much better than New York on $606 a Day. A search for “New York” books brings up Not for Tourists 2008 Guide to New York City and The Best Things to Do in New York City: 1001 Ideas. Not for tourists – but I am a tourist! – and if this is an insider’s guide then do natives read it? 2008 in the title reminds me that I need the new edition, and, if anything like car models, 2009 will be available well before 2008 ends. 1001 ideas makes me hyperventilate – a few good ones are all I need.

When I was in high school, a friend gave me Mathematics Made Easy, which was one of the most inspirational books I ever read. I saw this book recently in a church bazaar, and thought about the title, which refers to the topic, not the reader. Now the For Dummies series offers numerous math books, as does The Complete Idiot’s Guide. I ended up a math major in college: could Math for Dummies have similarly inspired me? The titles of these new books refer to the reader, not to the topic.

In this age of Oprah’s Book Club determining what sells, I wish we could return to book titles that neither insult nor overwhelm the reader. But then what about course titles? I teach a course, “Online Consumer Health”, previously “Online Health Communities”. My primary motivation for changing the name was that one of my students last fall told me he signed up for the course not knowing what an online health community was.

What if course titles tried to grab you, like book titles, but still remained descriptive? I could rename mine “Online Consumer Health: How to Design and Evaluate Health Web Sites” or “How People without Medical Training Use the Internet for Health Education and Support”. One of my favorite courses in graduate school, “Software Engineering”, could be renamed “Software Engineering: How to be a Systems Architect and Play Office Politics to your Advantage”. Maybe these are a little wordy, but they are certainly descriptive and attention-grabbing.

Online courses, of course, have the same problem but more so, since there may be less context when a student isn’t on campus. A perusal of online course titles showed that titles like “Business Writing 101” are still in vogue. How about renaming it “Business Writing for Clarity and Managerial Praise”? I will say that I have seen a few online courses with intriguing names: Trump University has courses called “The Trump Way to Wealth” and “How to Start a Business on a Shoestring Budget”. These are certainly compelling and descriptive names and also briefer than my examples above.

Entry filed under: e-learning, health, online health communities, usability. Tags: , , , , .

The Impact of the Democratization of Health Information on Elders Why Ted Kennedy Isn’t Obsessively Searching the Internet

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. www.everyonesmiles.net  |  December 27, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Attractive element of content. I simply stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire actually enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing on your augment or even I
    success you get right of entry to persistently fast.

    Reply
  • 2. Layne  |  December 26, 2013 at 4:15 pm

    Every weekend i used to go to see this web page, because i want
    enjoyment, since this this website conations genuinely pleasant funny data too.

    Reply
  • 3. Jami  |  December 6, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    Hi there, I discovered your website by way of Google while looking for a similar topic, your web
    site came up, it appears good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just became alert to your weblog through Google, and
    located that it’s truly informative. I’m going to watch out for
    brussels. I will appreciate if you happen to continue this in future.
    Lots of people will likely be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    Reply
  • 4. Exclusivetraveldesign.com  |  September 28, 2013 at 7:25 am

    I don’t even know how I stopped up right here, but I assumed this put up was once good.
    I don’t recognize who you are but certainly you are going to
    a well-known blogger when you are not already. Cheers!

    Reply
  • 5. VCA direct  |  September 16, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    E-learning site:
    VCA Cursus

    Reply
  • 6. Kate Britt  |  May 25, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Lisa, those are some good thoughts on the efficacy (or not) of titles. Yes, WHAT IF “course titles tried to grab you, like book titles, but still remained descriptive?” And why not?

    Based on my last 4 years, I could probably teach “How to Broker Your Own Health”. Your course sounds fascinating to me and I’ll have to dig around and find where it is (just found your blog today, don’t know much else about you yet). The internet has been one of my best tools in the process of taking over the management of my own health to slice through the gobbeldygook of the medical system.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Lisa Gualtieri, PhD, ScM

Lisa GualtieriLisa Gualtieri is Assistant Professor at Tufts University School of Medicine in the Department of Public Health and Community Medicine. She is Director of the Certificate Program in Digital Health Communication. Lisa teaches Designing Health Campaigns using Social Media, Social Media and Health, Mobile Health Design, and Digital Strategies for Health Communication. Contact Lisa: lisa.gualtieri@tufts.edu

@lisagualtieri


